25 Researchers

As part of our 25th Anniversary celebration, the AAP Foundation wanted to highlight 25 past award recipients whose research is shaping the future of the specialty. To explore this page, hover over each photo for names, click each photo for a snapshot of each researcher's impact on the art and science of periodontology. We are sincerely grateful for the contributions these dedicated individuals are making to science, and for the gifts from the generous donors to the AAP Foundation that helped make this important work a reality.


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...


Facebook Feed

Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Gustavo Avila-Ortiz, DDS, MS, PhD, 2011 Teaching Fellow and 2009 AAPF Fellow to the ADEA/AAL Institute for Teaching and Learning in the Health Professions, who recently was appointed Department Chair (DEO) and promoted to Professor at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry, Department of Periodontics.