Dr. Mark K. Setter Leadership in Periodontology and Dental Implantology Award

Dr. Mark K. Setter Leadership in Periodontology and Dental Implantology Award Application


A $10,000 one-time cash award.


The recipient of the Dr. Mark K. Setter Leadership in Periodontology and Dental Implantology Award must exemplify leadership in our profession by his/her actions in promoting periodontology and dental implantology. Applicants must be full-time periodontal residents as of the application deadline at accredited U.S. periodontal programs and nominated by their periodontal program director. 


Candidates may apply by June 1 through the link below.

Application for Dr. Mark K. Setter Leadership in Periodontology and Dental Implantology Award


The committee bases its selection on the applicant's leadership in promoting periodontology, implantology, advanced treatment planning and case acceptance strategies through mentorship of other students and professionals, making a positive impact on how periodontology and dental implantology is viewed in their school, or by promoting the importance of periodontology and dental implantology in the comprehensive treatment of patients. This is not a clinical award but an award for leadership for promoting all aspects of what it means to be a periodontist.

For More Information

If you have additional questions regarding any AAP Foundation Awards, please contact:

Ariel A. Medoff, MA, MLIS
Awards Coordinator
American Academy of Periodontology Foundation
737 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 800-282-4867, ext. 3254 or 312-573-3254
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Inspiring Stories
Gustavo Avila Ortiz


“I feel better and better each day that I teach. I consider myself a privileged individual for having a job that I love in a wonderful institution. At the same time, having the ability to positively influence the careers and lives of the students with whom I interact makes it feel even better. My own personal experiences as a student helped me understand the importance of mentorship, therefore, I try my best to inspire and support pre- and post-doctoral students alike. I think my progression over the past two years has been tremendous in part because of the peace of mind afforded by the AAP Foundation Teaching Fellowship I was awarded in 2011; I can focus on being the best teacher and researcher I can be without worrying about finances,” says Gustavo Avila-Ortiz, DDS, MS, PhD. 


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518