Sponsor an AAP Foundation Event Today!

Want more visibility for your company among leaders in periodontology? Show your commitment to the specialty by sponsoring an AAP Foundation event today. Your sponsorship will demonstrate your support for periodontal education and research, a cause to which our donors have dedicated their careers, lives, and resources. Learn more here. 

Help us honor the life and legacy of Dr. James T. Mellonig

In 2021, periodontology lost one of its greats, Dr. James T. Mellonig. Dr. Mellonig was an educator, researcher, mentor and friend to many, and his presence is keenly missed throughout the specialty. At this year's AAP Annual meeting in Austin, TX, we will gather to pay tribute to the life and legacy of this great man. Join us for the AAP Foundation Mellonig Memorial Dinner. 

Join the AAP Foundation for a hoedown in Austin!

Join your friends and colleagues this November for the AAP Foundation Hoedown at the iconic Speakeasy Austin for some great music, good food, cocktails and fun times! 

Thanks to all who participated in PerioDash 2022!

This year's PerioDash was our best yet! Thank you to all who participated and supported the AAP Foundation!

Announcing the new Dr. Mark K. Setter Leadership in Periodontology and Dental Implantology Award

In February 2019, periodontology lost one of its greats - Dr. Mark Setter. Dr. Setter was well-loved and contributed to the field in many ways. He practiced for 30+ years, lectured, and mentored many dentists, periodontists, and students. To honor Dr. Setter's memory, Drs. Jason Souyias, Jason Stoner, and Mitch Godat, along with Mrs. Susan Setter, have worked with the AAP Foundation to establish the Dr. Mark K. Setter Leadership in Periodontology and Dental Implantology Award.

Inspiring Stories
Satheesh Elangovan


"Apart from helping me financially, this award has strengthened my commitment to dental education. I will be in academics for life," says Satheesh Elangovan, BDS, ScD, DMSc, a 2011 Abram and Sylvia Chasens Teaching and Research Fellow. Dr. Elangovan is currently an Assistant Professor at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. He is also the AAP Foundation's 2008 Tarrson Regeneration Scholar.


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518