Support the new William Giannobile Award

Donate to the William Giannobile Award here.

Throughout our lives, most of us have had a mentor or two who has helped us become who we are today. When we look back, we realize the tremendous impact our mentors have had on our careers. Dr. William Giannobile is one such mentor. This is why the AAP Foundation, along with an enthusiastic group of volunteers, is endeavoring to establish an award in his honor.

Dr. William Giannobile is the Najjar Endowed Professor of Dentistry and Biomedical Engineering and Chair of the Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine at the School of Dentistry. He received his DDS and an MS in Oral Biology from the University of Missouri at Kansas City. He later received his certificate in Periodontology and Doctor of Medical Sciences in Oral Biology from Harvard University. He subsequently completed postdoctoral training in Molecular Biology at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School. Dr. Giannobile previously served as a faculty member at Harvard and Forsyth Institute in Boston. He has published and lectured extensively in the fields of Regenerative Medicine, Tissue Engineering, and Salivary Diagnostics as it relates to Periodontology and Oral Implantology. He is the current Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Dental Research, the official journal of the International and American Associations for Dental Research.

Dr. Giannobile is known for his extraordinary mentoring and support of developing researchers and clinicians in our field. His innovative work and level of commitment has inspired many clinicians, researchers, and educators around the world:

“Dr. Giannobile is a clinician, chair, tissue engineering research investigator, teacher, past AAP Foundation President – he does everything, and also cares about the student condition. It’s inspiring to have a role model like that.” - Dr. Ann Decker, current third year resident at the University of Michigan

“Dr. Giannobile’s ability to teach and to communicate complicated concepts in a simple and concise way is outstanding. His respectful demeanor towards the students and his co-workers made him a role model for me. Today, I am proud to say that I was one of Dr. Giannobile’s students!” – Dr. Gustavo Avila-Ortiz, Associate Professor and the Director of the Graduate Program, University of Iowa, Class of 2009, University of Michigan

“Dr. Giannobile held my hand when I placed my very first incision and stayed by my side for the next four hours of that flap surgery, giving me the instructions and support that I needed to successfully treat my patient. It would be easier to list what I have not learned from him.” – Dr. Rodrigo Neiva, Director, University of Florida Center for Advanced Periodontology, Graduate Program Director & Clinical Associate Professor, University of Florida College of Dentistry, Class of 2003, University of Michigan

The William Giannobile Award will recognize those developing periodontology academicians with a $10,000 award. This award will be made to a graduating periodontal resident with the commitment to become a full-time academic member in periodontology (as a full-time faculty member or post-doctoral fellow), immediately following graduation. The Campaign Committee must raise $250,000 to make the Giannobile Award a reality. Please consider a gift or pledge today to an award that will continue Dr. Giannobile’s work of inspiring young people to pursue a career in academia.

To donate to the William Giannobile Award, click here.

Inspiring Stories
Satheesh Elangovan


"Apart from helping me financially, this award has strengthened my commitment to dental education. I will be in academics for life," says Satheesh Elangovan, BDS, ScD, DMSc, a 2011 Abram and Sylvia Chasens Teaching and Research Fellow. Dr. Elangovan is currently an Assistant Professor at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. He is also the AAP Foundation's 2008 Tarrson Regeneration Scholar.


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518