Help us honor the life and legacy of Dr. James T. Mellonig

In 2021, periodontology lost one of its greats, Dr. James T. Mellonig. Dr. Mellonig was an educator, researcher, mentor and friend to many, and his presence is keenly missed throughout the specialty. At this year's AAP Annual meeting in Austin, TX, we will gather to pay tribute to the life and legacy of this great man. Join us for the AAP Foundation Mellonig Memorial Dinner. 

Enjoy hors d'oeuvres, an elegant dinner, cocktails, and the company of friends and colleagues who knew Jim best. We will share our memories of him and toast the impact he made on the specialty and on our own lives. After the dinner, you are invited to stay for the AAP Foundation Hoedown. 

Date: Friday, November 10th
Time: 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Place: Speakeasy Austin, 412 Congress Ave. D, Austin, TX 78701

Speakeasy, located in the Kreisle Building, a City of Austin Historic Landmark, contributes to the National Register-listed Congress Avenue Historic District. It is roughly a 10-minute walk or less from the Austin Convention Center and AAP Headquarters hotels. 

Purchase tickets here. 

Special thanks to Pacific Dental Services, Inc., Dr. Samuel Lynch and Dr. Leslie Wisner-Lynch, Geistlich, and The Avenues Company for their sponsorship of this event. 

Inspiring Stories
Satheesh Elangovan


"Apart from helping me financially, this award has strengthened my commitment to dental education. I will be in academics for life," says Satheesh Elangovan, BDS, ScD, DMSc, a 2011 Abram and Sylvia Chasens Teaching and Research Fellow. Dr. Elangovan is currently an Assistant Professor at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. He is also the AAP Foundation's 2008 Tarrson Regeneration Scholar.


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518