AAP Foundation Announces Two New Awards

The AAP Foundation is pleased to announce two new awards that will begin this year.

The Sunstar – AAP Foundation Research Fellowship: The AAP Foundation is grateful to Sunstar for underwriting this award, intended to support scientific periodontal research. The $50,000 fellowship is open to full-time periodontal educators engaged in periodontal research at U.S. programs. Applicants are asked to submit research protocols addressing one or more of the following objectives: Effect of probiotics on oral conditions (periodontal diseases, caries), Novel approaches to periodontal bone regeneration, Novel biofilm control measures for the prevention/treatment of oral diseases, or the Relationship between oral and systemic health. Aaron Pfarrer, Senior Director, Surgical and Chemical Products at Sunstar Americas, Inc. says, “Sunstar has enjoyed a long, rewarding relationship with the AAP Foundation. We are proud to take that relationship further with this award, and we are looking forward to the advancement of the specialty through cutting-edge research.” The deadline for award applications is June 1. For more information and the application, visit periofoundation.org.

The Volpe Basic Science Research Fellowship: To address the retention of top periodontal basic science researchers and educators early in their careers, the Colgate-Palmolive Company made a donation in honor of Dr. Anthony Volpe to create this $20,000 award. The Volpe Basic Science Research Fellowship is intended to provide personal funding and support to those individuals who may be facing educational debt while striving to establish themselves in an academic role. Full-time periodontal educators who have been teaching for at least two, but not more than five, full-time academic years and are engaged in periodontal basic science research at U.S. programs are eligible to apply. Dr. Foti Panagakos, Global Director of Scientific Affairs at the Colgate-Palmolive Company, says, “Dr. Volpe had been with Colgate for over 52 years when he announced his retirement. He has been a driving force within dentistry since his graduation in 1960. We are proud to partner with the AAP Foundation to honor Dr. Volpe’s contributions to the field.” The deadline for this award application is May 1, and more information and the application can be found at periofoundation.org.

Inspiring Stories
Satheesh Elangovan


"Apart from helping me financially, this award has strengthened my commitment to dental education. I will be in academics for life," says Satheesh Elangovan, BDS, ScD, DMSc, a 2011 Abram and Sylvia Chasens Teaching and Research Fellow. Dr. Elangovan is currently an Assistant Professor at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. He is also the AAP Foundation's 2008 Tarrson Regeneration Scholar.


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518