AAP Foundation New Century Club

The New Century Club is a special donor category reserved exclusively for AAP Student members who donate to the AAP Foundation.


The program is structured to make it easier for Student members to become donors by offering two levels of New Century Club membership:

  • Golden Century Membership: A five-year pledge of $1,000 total, with payments of $200/year beginning two years after date of graduation.
  • Silver Century Membership: An annual invoice beginning immediately for a five-year period in the amount of $25, $50, or $100.

Donations to the New Century Club support the AAPF Education, Research & Service efforts unless otherwise designated by the donor.


New Century Club donors are recognized as upcoming leaders who have demonstrated their commitment to the specialty early in their careers. Benefits of New Century Club Membership include:

  • Acknowledgement in Foundation print and electronic publications
  • Acknowledgement at AAP Annual Meetings
  • The financial advantage of delayed invoicing for pledges of $1,000


The New Century Club is open to all AAP Student Members and donations may be made using our online giving form or by contacting the AAP Foundation:

Robert Vitas
Executive Director
American Academy of Periodontology Foundation
737 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 800-282-4867, ext. 3256 or 312-573-3256
Private fax: 312-787-3983
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

AAP Foundation Student Ambassador Program

The AAP Foundation works with periodontal program directors across the country to identify second- or third-year students to serve as AAP Foundation Student Ambassadors. These Student Ambassadors host a lunch program for their fellow residents, and present a PowerPoint presentation about the Foundation. The Foundation provides a budget for lunch, the PowerPoint, and supporting materials. If you’re interested in becoming a Student Ambassador, please contact Dana Camacho, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Special thanks to our Student Ambassador Sponsor, A-Titan Instruments. A-Titan will be presenting details about their special student program at select schools.

2022 AAP Foundation Student Ambassadors:

  • Harvard University: Justin Tomack
  • Indiana University School of Dentistry: Halide Namli
  • Loma Linda University: Thaer Alqadoumi
  • Louisiana State University: Lauren Langlois
  • Marquette University: Ajitesh Singh
  • Medical University of South Carolina: Waleed Alkakhan
  • Naval Postgraduate Dental School: Meredith Swisher
  • New York University: Sejndi Rusi
  • Ohio State University: Nerea Robles
  • Rutgers School of Dental Medicine: Morgan Atanasio
  • Saint Louis University Health Science Center: Michelle Hickey
  • Texas A&M University Health Sciences Center, Baylor College: Stephanie Bowers
  • Tufts University: JP De Guzman
  • University at Buffalo: Maryam Razmi
  • University of Alabama: Lincoln Nguyen
  • University of California Los Angeles: Ana Bujila
  • University of California San Francisco: Trung Nguyen
  • University of Colorado: Colleen Leong
  • University of Illinois at Chicago: Orlando Abreu
  • University of Iowa College of Dentistry: William Burns
  • University of Kentucky: Samer Sabbagh
  • University of Louisville: Katelyn Fleming
  • University of Maryland: Kristen Yant
  • University of Michigan: Larissa Steigmann
  • University of North Carolina: Teebok Choe
  • University of Oklahoma: Shiyamali Sundararajan
  • University of Pennsylvania: Allison Rascon
  • University of Pittsburgh: Anu Viswanathan
  • University of Rochester: Catherine Gagnon
  • University of Southern California: Mylea Wilson
  • University of Texas Health Science Ctr at San Antonio: Julia Shelbourne
  • University of Washington: Rika Takada
  • VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System: Matt Comfort
  • VA Medical Center New York: Ferris Elhein
  • Virginia Commonwealth University: William Porzio

Meet Your Ambassadors

AAP Foundation Ambassadors are dedicated volunteers who help to educate their peers about the Foundation’s work and solicit support. They do this through writing letters, speaking at local events, hosing small information sessions, making phone calls, etc. If you are interested in becoming an AAP Foundation Ambassador, please contact Dana Camacho, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Current AAP Foundation Amabssadors:

  • Wayne A Aldredge, DMD
  • Gustavo Avila-Ortiz, DDS, MS, PhD
  • Monish Bhola, DDS
  • Nabil F Bissada, DDS
  • Barry S Blank, DDS
  • Julio Carrion, DMD, PhD
  • Gail G Childers, DMD
  • John E Crosland, DDS
  • Steven R Daniel, DDS
  • Satheesh Elangovan, DDS, DMSc
  • Owais A Farooqi, DDS, MDS
  • Bryan J Frantz, DMD
  • Praveen Gajendrareddy, DDS, Ph
  • Joanne Gaydos-Daniel, DDS
  • Joseph E. Gian-Grasso, DMD
  • William Giannobile DDS, PhD
  • Larry S Jacobson, DDS
  • Vanchit John, DDS, MSD
  • Susan Karabin, DDS
  • John H Kobs, DDS, MS
  • Paul A Levi Jr, DMD
  • Frank A Maggio, DDS
  • Lisa B Masters, DDS
  • Pamela K McClain, DDS
  • Patricia Miguez, DDS, PhD
  • John D Moriarty, DDS
  • Marc L Nevins, DMD
  • Joan Otomo-Corgel, DDS
  • Leena Palomo, DDS
  • Steven J Peiser, DDS
  • Flavia Q Pirih, DDS, PhD, MS
  • Michael P Rethman, DDS
  • Christopher R Richardson DMD, MS
  • Hector F Rios, DDS, PhD
  • S Timothy Rose, DDS, MS
  • Ancy Verdier DMD
  • Hom-Lay Wang, DDS, MS, PhD
  • Bertina C Yuen DMD, MMSc

The mission of the American Academy of Periodontology Foundation is to improve the periodontal and general health of the public through increasing public and professional knowledge of periodontal diseases and their therapies, stimulating basic and clinical research to generate new knowledge, and enhancing educational programs at all levels to create opportunities in periodontal education and practice.

We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518