Satheesh Elangovan

"Apart from helping me financially, this award has strengthened my commitment to dental education. I will be in academics for life," says Satheesh Elangovan, BDS, ScD, DMSc, a 2011 Abram and Sylvia Chasens Teaching and Research Fellow. Dr. Elangovan is currently an Assistant Professor at the University of Iowa College of Dentistry. He is also the AAP Foundation's 2008 Tarrson Regeneration Scholar.

Salvador Nares

In 2009, the AAP Foundation introduced the The Nevins Teaching and Clinical Research Fellowship, created to address the retention of top periodontal clinical researchers and educators early in their careers. The award was created by generous donors in honor of Myron Nevins, DDS, a leader in periodontal clinical research.

Luciana Shaddox

The 2010 recipient of the AAP Teaching Fellowship is Luciana Shaddox, DDS, MS, PhD. Dr. Shaddox is currently a tenured associate professor in the Department of Periodontology at the University of Florida. She holds a dual appointment with the Department of Oral Biology.

Kevin Guze

"I can't begin to tell you the freedom this award has allowed me to pursue the training that I needed both in research and the clinical setting," says Kevin Guze, DMD, DMSc. Dr. Guze is the 2010 recipient of the Richard J. Lazzara Fellowship in Advanced Implant Surgery, sponsored by Biomet 3i. He serves as a postgraduate periodontal faculty member at the Harvard School of Dental Medicine, Department of Oral Medicine, Infection and Immunity.

Gustavo Ortiz

“I feel better and better each day that I teach. I consider myself a privileged individual for having a job that I love in a wonderful institution. At the same time, having the ability to positively influence the careers and lives of the students with whom I interact makes it feel even better. My own personal experiences as a student helped me understand the importance of mentorship, therefore, I try my best to inspire and support pre- and post-doctoral students alike. I think my progression over the past two years has been tremendous in part because of the peace of mind afforded by the AAP Foundation Teaching Fellowship I was awarded in 2011; I can focus on being the best teacher and researcher I can be without worrying about finances,” says Gustavo Avila-Ortiz, DDS, MS, PhD.

Flavia Pirih

Since receiving the AAP Foundation’s Educator Scholarship in 2007, Flavia Q. Pirih, DDS, PhD, has proven that her career was a worthy investment of Foundation resources. Dr. Pirih is currently an Assistant Professor and Pre-doctoral clinic director at the University of California, Los Angeles. Dr. Pirih has served as Ambassador for the AAP Foundation since her residency at the University of Michigan. Dr. Pirih’s main research interest is in periodontal disease initiation, development and peri-implantitis.

We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518