12 Days of Award Recipients

During the holiday season, we at the AAP Foundation wanted to share how much your gifts mean to us and to those who receive Foundation awards. The 12 Days of Award Recipients highlights current and past award recipients, each with their own video message. Thanks to those who support the Foundation's work. Your generosity makes a difference, every day.

Day 1: In the spirit of the holidays, the Foundation would like to highlight the gifts you have given and the impact you have made. Welcome to 12 days of award recipients! We will kick things off with Zach Evans, 2019 Teaching Fellow. Meet Zach here

Day 2: Day 2 of our 12 days of award recipients is Amanda Finger Stadler, 2019 Educator Scholar. Dr. Stadler's story is a compelling one; watch it here

Day 3: Welcome to day 3 of the AAP Foundation's 12 days of award recipients! Today's feature is 2011 Teaching Fellow, Gustavo Avila-Ortiz. Dr. Avila-Ortiz is Professor and Chair, Department of Periodontics, at the University of Iowa. See his video here.

Day 4: 2019 Kramer Scholar, Dr. Yousuf Al-Aboosi is our featured award recipient for day 4 of the Foundation's 12 days of award recipients. Hear Dr. Al-Aboosi reflect on his award here.

Day 5: On the 5th day of "12 days of award recipients", the AAP Foundation gives to you: the 2020 Kramer Scholar, Adam Saltz! Support the Foundation and people like Adam at, and hear a bit of Adam's story here.

Day 6: 2002 Tarrson Fellow, Dr. Paulo Camargo, Professor, Chair of the Section of Periodontics, Associate Dean of Clinical Affairs, Tarrson Family Endowed Chair in Periodontics, UCLA School of Dentistry, is featured for today's 12 Days of Award Recipients. Dr. Camargo helped establish the close knit camaraderie the Tarrson Fellows enjoy. See Dr. Camargo's reflections here.

Day 7: Today is day 7 out of 12 Days of Award Recipients! Meet Yung-Ting (Lizzy) Hsu, 2016 ADEA/ITL Fellow and 2018 Nevins Teaching & Clinical Research Fellow. Watch her video message here.

Day 8: Day 8 of the AAP Foundation's 12 Days of Award Recipients brings us Dr. Kevin Matthew Byrd, 2020 James T. Mellonig Regeneration Research Awardee and 2017 AAP Educator Scholar. See Dr. Byrd's message here.

Day 9: Did you know the AAP Foundation has a scholarship to help educators, or practitioners transitioning to an academic career, hone their teaching skills? Day 9 of 12 Days of Award Recipients is Dr. Sharon Lanning, 2006 Foundation Fellow to the ADEA/ITL. See her message here

Day 10: It's day 10 of the 12 Days of Award Recipients! Dr. Flavia Pirih is a 2007 Educator Scholar and 2013 Tarrson Fellow. A Foundation Student Ambassador in 2008, she joined the Foundation Board in 2018 and now serves as Vice President. See Dr. Pirih's message here

Day 11: Day 11 of the 12 Days of Award Recipients brings us Dr. Patricia Miguez, 2008 Chasens Fellow and 2014 Tarrson Fellow. Dr. Miguez is Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, School of Dentistry. See Dr. Miguez's message here.

Day 12: Our final day of the 12 Days of Award Recipients brings Dr. Sejal Thacker, 2020 Tarrson Fellow and Graduate Program Director, Advanced Education Program in Periodontics at the University of Connecticut. See Dr. Thacker's heartfelt message here.

We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...


Facebook Feed

Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.