Teaching Fellowships

Posted in Education Awards

Teaching Fellowships provide debt relief to young periodontal educators.


Teaching Fellowships, made possible by a $1 million commitment from the American Academy of Periodontology, are intended to support the young periodontal educator's commitment to a career in academia by providing debt relief to qualified applicants. The $50,000 Fellowships are given to qualified faculty members within their first three years of teaching at a U.S. periodontal training institution. Funding for Teaching Fellows is provided at the end of each year of full-time teaching.


Applicants for Teaching Fellowships must be in the first three years of full-time teaching (as defined by the institution) at an accredited U.S. dental school or have accepted a full-time faculty position to teach periodontology at a U.S. dental school, whether or not it has a postdoctoral periodontal residency program. Fellows are not eligible to apply for this award again but are welcome to apply for other Foundation awards, excluding the Nevins Fellowship and Tarrson Fellowship. Past fellows of the Nevins Fellowship, Tarrson Fellowship, and Volpe Fellowship are also not eligible to apply for this award.


Completed applications are due on or before June 1.


Teaching Fellowship finalists will be invited to attend, at their own expense, a mandatory personal interview with the selection committee during the AAP Annual Meeting.

For More Information

If you have additional questions regarding any AAP Foundation Awards, please contact:

Ariel A. Medoff, MA, MLIS
Awards Coordinator
American Academy of Periodontology Foundation
737 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 800-282-4867, ext. 3254 or 312-573-3254


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...


Facebook Feed

Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.