Educator Scholarships

Posted in Education Awards


Educator Scholarships were created to stimulate the development of periodontal educators by providing financial relief to students intending to pursue a career as full-time teachers at U.S. periodontal programs upon graduation from U.S. periodontal postdoctoral training programs. The $25,000 Educator Scholarship is intended to provide help with tuition and living expenses during the training period and may also be used for debt reduction. The number of Scholarships awarded each year will depend upon the applicant pool.

The Educator Scholar must commit to spending one year as a full-time periodontal educator at a U.S. program for each year he/she receives the award. If the recipient fails to meet the teaching requirement, the award is considered a loan and must be repaid.


Applicants for the Educator Scholarships must have been accepted into, or must be current students in, a periodontal postdoctoral training program in the United States. Applicants are welcome to apply in any year of their periodontal programs. Recipients must intend to teach full-time in a U.S. periodontal program upon graduation. Previous recipients of the AAP Educator Scholarship may not re-apply.


Completed applications are due by June 1.


The applications will be reviewed by a selection committee appointed by the AAP Foundation President. Finalists for the scholarship will be asked to attend a mandatory personal interview with the selection committee during the AAP Annual Meeting.


For More Information

If you have additional questions regarding any AAP Foundation Awards, please contact:

Ariel A. Medoff, MA, MLIS
Awards Coordinator
American Academy of Periodontology Foundation
737 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 800-282-4867, ext. 3254 or 312-573-3254


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...


Facebook Feed

Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.