Profiles of staff members who carry out the charitable and educational programs of the AAP Foundation.

Aimee R. O'Connor, Investment Consultant, Dimeo Schneider & Associates, LLC

With 10 years of industry experience, Aimee services nonprofit organizations, corporate executives, family trusts and other substantial investors by providing expertise on asset allocation, portfolio design, investment policy statements, the manager search process and overall all investment management. Loras College BA.

Jonathon J. Fellows, Senior Investment Consultant, Dimeo Schneider & Associates, LLC

With 20 years of industry experience, Jon specialized in providing comprehensive investment consulting services to foundations, endowments, nonprofit organizations and high-net-worth families. Jon is a member of the firm's Investment Committee, as well as its Capital Markets, Investment Manager and Hedge Fund Sub-Committees. Jon earned his BBA Degree in Finance & Accounting from the University of Michigan, his MS degree in Finance, Investment, and Banking from the University of Wisconsin and is a CFA charterholder.

Sarah VanAmburg, Development Manager

Sarah VanAmburg serves as the Development Coordinator of the American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. She joined the Foundation after serving 3 years in the AAP's Membership Department. From her role with the Academy, she brings extensive database management experience and works to ensure proper gift processing, reporting and acknowledgement.

Dana A. Camacho, Deputy Executive Director

Dana A. Camacho, MS, BA, BS, CFRE, serves as the Deputy Executive Director of the American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. She has worked as a nonprofit fundraiser for nearly 30 years, including roles with an international volunteer organization, a social service agency and a graduate school of management.
Ms. Camacho served as a volunteer with the United States Peace Corps in Swidnik, Poland, teaching high school level English. She has served on several nonprofit boards, and has experience with appeals, event planning, sponsor and corporate partner solicitation, project management, volunteer management, budgeting, needs assessment, publications and marketing.

Robert A. Vitas, Executive Director

Robert A. Vitas, Ph.D., CAE, CFRE serves as Executive Director of the American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. He has worked in nonprofits and foundations most of his professional life, including directing Healthy Smiles, Healthy Children: The Foundation of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. Dr. Vitas was also regional training and development manager for Eastman Kodak's photofinishing subsidiary, with responsibility for technical, production, and management training in the Northern United States and Canada.

A Certified Association Executive and Certified Fund Raising Executive, Dr. Vitas has served on several nonprofit boards. He chaired the Association Forum of Chicagoland's Professional Practices Committee, co-chaired the Foundation & Development Shared Interest Group, was a member of the Editorial Content Working Group, and now serves on the CAE Working Group.
Dr. Vitas earned his Ph.D. in political science at Loyola University of Chicago and is a Visiting Scholar at Northwestern University. He has published four books and over two dozen scholarly articles, chapters, and reviews. He served as an enlisted man and commissioned officer in the United States Army Reserve.

For More Information

If you have additional questions regarding any AAP Foundation Awards, please contact:

Ariel A. Medoff, MA, MLIS
Awards Coordinator
American Academy of Periodontology Foundation
737 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 800
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 800-282-4867, ext. 3254 or 312-573-3254
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Inspiring Stories
Salvador Nares


In 2009, the AAP Foundation introduced the The Nevins Teaching and Clinical Research Fellowship, created to address the retention of top periodontal clinical researchers and educators early in their careers. The award was created by generous donors in honor of Myron Nevins, DDS, a leader in periodontal clinical research.


We are Research

We fund research to keep periodontology at the cutting edge of scientific dentistry. Read more...


We are Education

We ensure the future of periodontology by strengthening future generations. Read more...


We are Visionary

The Visionary Society was launched in 2000 to encourage the gift of future assets. Read more...



Past Award Winners Update

Congratulations to Fatemeh “Flora” Momen-Heravi, DDS, PhD, (2017 Educator Scholar, 2018 Dr. D. Walter Cohen Teaching Award Recipient) assistant professor of dental medicine at the Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, who was named the 2020 recipient of the American Association for Dental Research (AADR) Anne D. Haffajee Fellowship. The award provides early-career women researchers in the field of oral biology with financial support for training and research activities that will advance their academic careers. Read more here.

©2023 American Academy of Periodontology Foundation. All rights reserved.
737 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611
(312) 787-5518